Jersey Bettine dress, AKA the lazy dress

After a stressful week at work, I decided to take it easy on the weekend with a nice long sleep-in on Saturday, and some tea. I opted to make the Bettine dress from Tilly and the Buttons again, this time in a soft grey marle jersey. The result is an incredibly comfy dress, which I have dubbed ‘the lazy dress’- the type of dress I can just throw on when I’m lounging around being lazy at home, but is still appropriate for a trip to the shops or impromptu dinner with friends!

all the little happy things - jersey Bettine dress

all the little happy things - jersey Bettine dress

all the little happy things - jersey Bettine dress

This was also my first attempt at sewing with knit fabric, and I think I’ve done a pretty good job! Sewing with jersey was very different but not as hard as I thought it was going to be. I read up on Pretty Prudent’s tips for sewing jersey beforehand and made sure to use a stretch needle and my machine’s stretch stitch for the seams. As recommended by Tilly, I made the plain skirt version of the dress and finished the neckline with a neckband instead of interfacing. The neckband was pretty tricky but I just went slow and I’m happy with how it turned out. I did attempt a blind hem to finish off (my machine has a blind hem stitch for stretch fabrics) but after a couple of tries and quite a bit of time with my seam-ripper, I gave up and just zig-zagged the hem. Oh well, can’t win them all!

all the little happy things - jersey Bettine dress

all the little happy things - jersey Bettine dress

This is the most comfortable dress I’ve ever worn, and I can tell it will end up in heavy rotation in my wardrobe! I really, really love the Bettine pattern, am already dreaming up other version – a pocket skirt version in a nice drapey rayon, a jersey Bettine t-shirt… can’t wait to make more!

4 thoughts on “Jersey Bettine dress, AKA the lazy dress

Leave a Reply

