Project Life 2017 – January pages

all the little happy things - Project Life 2017 - January

Saying hello to my Project Life album for 2017 today! This year I’ve changed things up and have switched to 9×12 pages in this album from Studio Calico in ‘clean slate’. I’ve only done one month of spreads, but so far I’m really loving the new size!

all the little happy things - Project Life 2017 - January

Isn’t that ‘January’ card lovely? I picked up a whole set of cards for the year, from Studio Calico. I love Jasmine Jones’ calligraphy!

all the little happy things - Project Life 2017 - January

I’m trying to mix in more black and white photos into my pages this year. I like the way that black and white photos help you to focus in on the faces, and it means I can use more colour in my journalling and filler cards without worrying about the page looking too ‘busy’.

all the little happy things - Project Life 2017 - January

This is probably my favourite spread from this month – just love how all the colours look together!

all the little happy things - Project Life 2017 - January

I like adding bits of life ephemera to my pages, like ticket stubs or greeting cards. This page features a little post-it note that Dannii wrote and left on my desk with my anniversary present. Love it!

all the little happy things - Project Life 2017 - January

Even though I’m Australian and don’t live in the USA, the end of Obama’s presidency was a pretty significant world event. I really liked this quote from his farewell address, which really inspired me to think about how I should participate in the democratic process here at home. I added the text directly to the photo using my photo editing software, Photoscape.

The journalling cards on this page were made from 4×6 grid cards and some gold foil washi tape. I added the gold star pattern in the background using a silkscreen from Studio Calico and Color Theory acrylic paint in 24 Karat. I really liked using the same ‘style’ of card throughout this page – it brought everything together really nicely.

all the little happy things - Project Life 2017 - January

I kept things simple with this spread, and added just a couple of embellishments and a few stamps to my journal cards. I like going light on the embellishments, as it lets my photos and journalling take centre stage.

all the little happy things - Project Life 2017 - January

all the little happy things - Project Life 2017 - January

How cute is this photo of my niece?! It fits perfectly with this ‘bossy’card from a past Studio Calico kit. She really is the ‘boss’ of all our family gatherings!

all the little happy things - Project Life 2017 - January

Last page for January! Another simple one, with just a bit of stamping, some washi tape, and an arrow sticker. I’m making an effort to include more journalling and tell the significant stories from my life in my album this year, both good and bad. I had a not-so-great story to tell from January, so I used this “not awesome” card (also from a past Studio Calico kit), which conveniently fit really nicely with the colour scheme I had going on.

And that’s it for January! I’m definitely looking forward to documenting the rest of the year in this album!

Leave a Reply

