Fun with gold foil – heart canvas artwork

I’m not much of an artist or a painter, but I when I saw this ombre heart painting on Apartment Therapy, I knew I wanted to give it a try. Then I bought some Deco Foil, and I thought – why not make the heart gold instead of pink? So that’s what I did!

all the little happy things - gold foil heart canvas artwork

all the little happy things - gold foil heart canvas artwork

I bought a cheap canvas and pink and white acrylic paints from Lincraft, and followed the Apartment Therapy tutorial to paint the ombre pink background on my canvas. I let it dry for a few hours before adding the heart.

all the little happy things - gold foil heart canvas artwork

The gold foil was a little trickier than just painting a nice heart. I cut a template of the heart out of paper, and then traced it in pencil onto the canvas. I painted tacky glue onto the heart shape and waited a few seconds for it to dry slightly. Then I cut a piece of Deco Foil large enough to cover the heart, placed it gold side up on the canvas, and rubbed the foil onto the glue with my finger (wrapped in a tea towel). I had to do two rounds with the Deco Foil to make sure all the glue was covered with the foil.

all the little happy things - gold foil heart canvas artwork

The gold foil didn’t adhere perfectly smoothly, but I liked the brushed-on look it left. When I peeled off the foil backing sheet, a bit of paint came off in a few spots as well, so I ended up touching up the problem spots with a small paintbrush and some gold acrylic paint. I probably should have let the painted canvas dry for another few hours before adding the heart. Oh well!

all the little happy things - gold foil heart canvas artwork

All in all, I’m actually pretty happy with how this turned out! It’s not perfect, but I like the way it looks and the sweetness it adds to our living room. Definitely another successful Deco Foil project!

all the little happy things - gold foil heart canvas artwork

all the little happy things - gold foil heart canvas artwork

Leave a Reply

