DIY gold tech accessories

For most of my life, I’ve been a silver girl. Jewellery, home decor, crafting – I’d always pick silver over gold. But these past couple of years, I’ve noticed myself gravitating towards gold instead of silver. Gold foil on my cushions. Gold-toned jewellery. Gold accents on my Project Life pages. I think it’s time to accept the fact that I’ve become a golden girl!

In that vein, I’ve embraced gold and made some golden tech accessories. I made a simple mousepad, a case for my iPod and earbuds, and a few cord organisers. My favourite crafts are the ones that are functional as well as pretty, and these definitely fit the bill!

all the little happy things - gold tech accessories

Mousepad
all the little happy things - gold tech accessories

For the mousepad, I used a piece of gold metallic leather from this eBay store. All I did was cut the leather to size and glue it on top of an old mousepad I had lying around. Easy peasy!

iPod Case
all the little happy things - gold tech accessories
all the little happy things - gold tech accessories

For the iPod case, I used the rest of the gold leather and an 8cm flex purse frame that I bought from Etsy. The ‘pattern’ for this case was basically just two rectangles of the same size – I folded down and sewed the top edges of each rectangle to accommodate the flex purse frame, and then sewed the bottom and sides together.

Cord organisers
all the little happy things - gold tech accessories

I had been keeping my various cords organised by using twist ties, but I didn’t like how messy it looked and how frequently the twist ties broke and needed replacing. So I made these simple 5-minute cord organisers out of the leftover gold trim from my Princess Jasmine Costume.

All I did was cut strips of the trim, stick velcro dots to the ends, and then trim the ends to a curve. Voila! Pretty gold cord organisers!

I’m very happy with how each of these crafts turned out, and I’m glad I added these pops of gold to brighten up my desk and my handbag!

Leave a Reply

