Fun with gold foil – cushion covers

Have you heard of Deco Foil? You can use it to add foil accents to any porous surface (i.e. paper, fabric or wood). It’s a product I’ve seen popping up in a few blogs, and I decided to give it a whirl! My first project was these cushion covers featuring two of my favourite things: ampersands and T-Rex!

all the little happy things - gold foil cushion covers

I followed this tutorial to add the foil to my cushions. Basically, you just need to trace and cut your shape from fusible web, iron the fusible web shape to your fabric, then iron on the Deco Foil and burnish (I just wrapped my fingers in a tea towel and rubbed over the surface). Then you can peel away the foil sheet and voila! Gold foil!

all the little happy things - gold foil cushion covers

I made simple envelope cushion covers as they are incredibly quick and easy to throw together – no need to fiddle around with zips! I had size 14 cushions (i.e. 14″ or 36cm squares), so I cut a 14 inch square of fabric for the front, and two 14×9 inch rectangles for the back. I hemmed one long side of each rectangle, then just sewed everything together so that the hemmed sides of the rectangles overlapped. Easy peasy!

all the little happy things - gold foil cushion covers

I’m really happy with these cushions! Using fusible web seems to be the way to go to get these nice clean lines. The Deco Foil was easy to work with, and I love how it really makes these cushions ‘pop!’

all the little happy things - gold foil cushion covers

I bought quite a lot of gold Deco Foil from ScrapDragon, anticipating that I’d end up using a lot given its versatility. And after this first project, I am definitely hooked! I’ve already started dreaming up a bunch of other gold foil projects, so watch this space!

2 thoughts on “Fun with gold foil – cushion covers

  1. Pingback: Fun with gold foil – lyric tote | all the little happy things

Leave a Reply

