Using up leftover supplies – a quilted pinwheel chair pad/potholder

Last year, I made my first ever quilt as gift for my niece. I had quite a lot of quilting fabric and some cotton batting left over, so I decided to use some of those scraps to make a little chair pad for my Eames replica chair, to ward away the winter chill!

all the little happy things - quilted pinwheel chair pad and potholder

I used a dinner plate as my template to cut 1 circle of my backing fabric and 2 circles of cotton batting. Then I traced the outline of the plate onto some greaseproof paper and folded the paper template into half three times, to make a 1/8 ‘slice’ template for the top of the pinwheel.

After that, it was just a matter of cutting out my ‘slices’ and sewing everything together! I finished everything off with some bias binding, which I made following this tutorial.

all the little happy things - quilted pinwheel chair pad and potholder

all the little happy things - quilted pinwheel chair pad and potholder

If I had had a bigger piece of cotton batting, I would have made the pad a little larger to fit the chair better, but I think it still works fine as is. Plus, this a great size to use as a decorative potholder – hooray for multi-use items!

all the little happy things - quilted pinwheel chair pad and potholder

Leave a Reply

