Using up leftover supplies – a Princess Jasmine-inspired tsumami kanzashi headband

I have a pretty big stash of miscellaneous leftover supplies from past projects. Sometimes when I get the urge to make something, I reach for my stash to see what I can whip up without having to buy anything new.

all the little happy things - Princess Jasmine-inspired tsumami kanzashi headband

all the little happy things - Princess Jasmine-inspired tsumami kanzashi headband

This tsumami kanzashi flower brooch/headband is a little craft that I put together on Saturday morning, just using bits and pieces that were leftover from bigger projects. I picked colours and embellishments that were reminiscent of Princess Jasmine’s outfit – turquoise, sapphire and gold. The only ‘new’ thing I had to buy to finish it off was the brooch back! Here’s the breakdown of the supplies I used:

  • Satin fabric scraps and rhinestone from my Princess Jasmine costume
  • Printed cotton fabric scraps from the single bed quilt I made for my niece
  • Gold sequin trim and gold elastic leftover from my Wonder Woman costume
  • Turquoise felt leftover from when I ran a kids’ workshop on making felt phone sleeves

all the little happy things - Princess Jasmine-inspired tsumami kanzashi headband
I’d never made a tsumami kanzashi flower before, so I just searched for tutorials on Google until I found one I liked. The whole thing came together in only a couple of hours, and I’m really pleased with how it turned out! The flower can be detached as a brooch, and the headband can be used on its own as well.

all the little happy things - Princess Jasmine-inspired tsumami kanzashi headband
This is the ideal hair accessory for a Princess Jasmine Disneybound, and I’m looking forward to adding this bit of Disney-inspired whimsy to my outfits in the future!

Leave a Reply

