Five… favourite albums

My taste in music is pretty eclectic, and I tend to prefer individual tracks by various artists, rather than whole albums. But there are a few albums that I love to listen to in their entirety, start to finish. Here are five of my favourites!

1. Eyes Open by Snow Patrol

all the little happy things - five favourite albums - Eyes Open by Snow Patrol
What I love about this album is it’s full of what I like to call ‘soundtrack music’. You can image each track playing over a scene in a TV drama or a movie. When I listen to this album, everything feels just that little bit more cinematic.
Stand-out track: Set The Fire To The Third Bar, featuring Martha Wainwright

2. Timekeeper by Lucy Schwartz

all the little happy things - five favourite albums - Timekeeper by Lucy Schwartz
My favourite thing about this album is how each song tells a story. Lucy Schwartz is a talented lyricist and musician, and each track in this album is thoughtful and full of vivid imagery. I also love how varied the music styles are – each song has its own atmosphere and setting.
Stand-out track: Boomerang (Fun fact: this song was featured at the end of season 4 of Arrested Development. Lucy’s dad did the music for the show!)

3. Everything In Transit by Jack’s Mannequin

all the little happy things - five favourite albums - Everything In Transit by Jack's Mannequin
This is another album that I love for its lyrics! The first time I ever listened to it, I felt really emotionally connected to the songs, and it’s a feeling that has stuck with me ever since.
Stand-out track: Dark Blue, one of my favourite songs of all time.

4. Bomb in a Birdcage by A Fine Frenzy

all the little happy things - five favourite albums - Bomb in a Birdcage by A Fine Frenzy
I read recently that Alison Sudol will no longer make music under the name ‘A Fine Frenzy, which is a pity, but at least I’ll always have this gorgeous album. With Alison’s sweet, pure vocals, well-blended instrumentation and thoughtful lyrics, this album has long been in my list of favourites.
Stand-out track: Happier – one of the most beautifully bittersweet songs I’ve ever had the privilege of listening to. (Fun fact: the music video features indie singer Landon Pigg!)

5. On Your Shore by Charlotte Martin

all the little happy things - five favourite albums - On Your Shore by Charlotte Martin
Charlotte Martin is an incredibly talented singer-songwriter and pianist, and I’ve loved this album since the first time I heard it in 2007. It’s the kind of music that will both soothe and uplift you when you’re feeling overwhelmed. Absolutely gorgeous.
Stand-out track: Really difficult to choose, but I’ll go with Every Time It Rains.

Leave a Reply

