Picnic blanket skirt

After my success with making my own pyjama pants, I was itching to start a new ongoing sewing project to work on during my down-time after work and on the weekends.

I decided to go with another project by Tilly Walnes, this time from her blog: the Picnic Blanket skirt! I’ve been looking for a few more pieces I can add to my ‘casual Friday’ wardrobe, and this skirt looked like it would fit the bill.

I picked up the fabric for the skirt at the same BrisStyle De-stash and Dash event where I got the fabric for my Margot pyjama pants. I really liked the look of Tilly’s original skirt, so I went with a lovely navy-and-white plaid cotton fabric (from the 1990s!), and picked up some wooden buttons from my local Spotlight.

After about three weeks of sewing for a few hours at a time on weekends and before bed some weeknights, I finally finished my very own Picnic Blanket skirt!

all the little happy things - my Picnic Blanket skirt

It was my first time making gathers and sewing buttonholes. Since I’m still a novice, I did have to refer to Tilly’s book Love at First Stitch a couple of times to make sure I was doing a few of the techniques right. But the steps on the website were otherwise very easy to follow. I stitched the pockets about an inch too low down the side seams, but oh well – they’re still usable!

all the little happy things - my Picnic Blanket skirt

I really enjoyed making this skirt, and I’m glad it turned out so well! I can’t wait to start my next sewing project… maybe I could tackle a dress next!

all the little happy things - my Picnic Blanket skirt

3 thoughts on “Picnic blanket skirt

Leave a Reply

