Wedding Wednesday

all the little happy things - Wedding Wednesday - the gown

Even before Dannii and I got engaged, I had daydreamed of buying my wedding gown from The Babushka Ballerina, a wedding boutique here in Brisbane. I would pass by on the bus and swoon a little at the beautifulAnna Campbell gowns I saw in the shop window, with their vintage-inspired details and flowing silk chiffon skirts.

Fast forward several months, and I walked into The Babushka Ballerina with my mother and my maid of honour, ready to shop for my gown. The first dress I tried on was the Anna Campbell Sophia gown – and I fell in love. I tried on a few other dresses, but I always came back to Sophia.

all the little happy things - Wedding Wednesday - the gown

The gown made me feel so elegant and beautiful, I never wanted to take it off! I absolutely loved the floaty layers of silk chiffon and the different ways I could wrap and tie the straps. I added a beaded embellishment to the bodice and a silk sash, but that was all I needed. It was the perfect wedding dress.

all the little happy things - Wedding Wednesday - the gown
all the little happy things - Wedding Wednesday - the gown
all the little happy things - Wedding Wednesday - the gown

On the big day itself, my mum and bridesmaids had a bit of fun wrapping and tying me into the gown (we’d had to organise a night for them to practise before the wedding!), and they did an excellent job. Maybe a little too good of a job – I had to get my maid of honour to loosen it all up when I got to the reception, as I was getting a little short of breath!

all the little happy things - Wedding Wednesday - the gown

I love that my actual wedding dress matched up with my daydream dress. I felt like a princess, and I know Dannii thought I looked beautiful – and in the end, that’s what you want from a wedding gown, isn’t it?

all the little happy things - Wedding Wednesday - the gown

Images by Lily & Thom

Leave a Reply

